“He felt that his whole life was some kind of dream and he sometimes wondered whose it was and whether they were enjoying it.”

“The mere thought hadn’t even begun to speculate about the merest possibility of crossing my mind.”

“…any man who can hitch the length and breadth of the Galaxy, rough it, slum it, struggle against terrible odds, win through and still know where his towel is, is clearly a man to be reckoned with.”

“He always felt vaguely irritable after demolishing populated planets.”

I am reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

A friend of mine told me to read it many years ago, and I am just now getting to read it. It is quite hilarious. It’s got that insanely brilliant kind of British humor.

Just like my friend Ford, who told me about it.

Whenever I read something that is too funny to explain, I think of Ford. He is the funniest person I have ever met. Ever. We have known each other since elementary school. The picture at the top is of us as college students, re-enacting our elementary school recess activity. We used to just dig a hole every day. We were those kids. The diggers. But we turned out just fine.

He is newly-wed to the most charming lady. She is the one person in the world who can keep up with his wit. (Nashvillians…She wants to visit Nashville to see the Parthenon replica. You can’t tell me that’s not the most charming thing you’ve ever heard). Their children will be the smartest and funniest people the world has ever known. I’m sure of it.

I’m so thankful for friendships that last. I’m so thankful that I don’t have to wonder, “Will I still be in touch with Ford and Lindy 10 years from now? 5 years? 1?” Because the answer is yes. I have no doubt. I can see other people choosing to bow out of my life, and I waver between being sad and angry about it. I know that things change. It makes me even more thankful for the friends that never leave. The ones that stay with me even if they are in other states. Like this one:

These are our “We are in Mexico!” faces

Ford and Ashley almost visited me at the same time, and my head nearly exploded just thinking about it. I guess that’s just another one of those longings for a day when the Church is all together in one place.

One thought on “

  1. Awww! I got your e-mail about the HItchiker’s Guide and spent so long telling Lindy how I was always right about matters of taste that I somehow convinced myself that I had told you all those things, too. Sorry for not replying! And here you are, writing the sweetest things about me. You’re the best, Allison! Sorry we didn’t end up coming to Nashville. We ended up not going to Lindy’s friend’s wedding. But we still want to come visit you! Way more than we wanted to go to that wedding. We also have the most comfortable bed in our guest room. In case you ever come down this way and want to get out of your parents’ house.

Leave a Reply

