Transition

I wasn’t going to make any comments about the election, but then I read this:

“Ponder how great it would be if one could vote for the imaginary/fantasy Obama which, alas, sadly exists only in the paranoid imagination of those who populate the fever-swamps of the right-wing: the Kenyan anti-colonialist on the angry warpath against American militarism and oligarchy, engineering Apology Tours for America’s past sins and vengeance-based retribution for thieving Wall Street tycoons.” – Glenn Greenwald

And that’s how his latest post begins. I wish I could lead a post like that.

So anyway, I will write about two unrelated things in one post.

1) The election.

In 2004 I was in College. It was my first vote. I didn’t put any thought into it at all. I voted for George Bush, and I voted for every Republican on the ballot. I know there are many Republicans who vote for Republican candidates after a lot of thought, so I am not saying that someone who votes solely for Republican candidates does it mindlessly. That’d be a logical fallacy, y’all. I am saying that is what I did in 2004.

In 2008 I went back and forth until the day of the election. I did not know who I was going to vote for until I woke up and commanded myself to make a decision. I command myself to do things all the time. Brush your teeth. Put on some pants. Vote for President. I voted third party. I decided that I could not, in good conscience, cast a vote for someone that I did not think would make a good President. I could not vote for someone simply because they were the nominee of a specific party. A lot of people say that people who vote third party don’t care about their votes, or aren’t informed enough to make a decision. It’s interesting. If you vote for someone simply because they are nominated by a certain party, no one says “Did you even consider your vote?”

Now it is 2012. I informed myself right out of this election. I didn’t vote. That doesn’t mean I will never vote again. That doesn’t mean I think voting is wrong. It means that in 2012, there were no candidates that I think would be fit leaders. There were a couple people running for a Senate seat that I thought looked pretty good (one of them actually referenced the NDAA on her website and scored major points with me for that), but in the end I couldn’t do it. I don’t feel good about voting against someone, or voting for the lesser of two evils. It’s still a vote for evil. I moved in June and did not update my voter registration address. That is when I started thinking “Hmm, I am not sure about this election….” A lot of people say you should vote because people “gave their lives” for our right to vote. But I think they “gave their lives” so we would be free, and that includes the freedom to choose whether or not you will vote.

And remember who else gave a life for actual and complete freedom. Jesus brings us a kingdom that cannot be shaken (Hebrews 12). A kingdom that cannot be shaken! United States government, puh-lease. I’ll take the kingdom that cannot be shaken. I’ll take the leader who does not lie, deceive, manipulate, and murder. I’ll take the leader who speaks and does not have to be fact-checked a day later. I’ll take the leader who delivers on His promises and then surprises me with even more. And thankfully He makes His decisions based on His Father’s perfect will, and not the will of the people, because y’all are crazy.

Which sort of (only in my mind) leads me to…

2) I like people again.

I learned in the past couple of days that it is possible to carry around a deep disappointment and, at the same time, feel glad because Jesus is good. Disappointment. Gladness. Only He could reconcile the two. It’s Jesus magic.

I learned that isolation is bad. I don’t know how to explain this. But Christians are able to learn something on their own, and then share it with each other, and we all benefit. We don’t benefit intellectually. We benefit in other ways. Our pain is healed, or our spirit is lifted. Revelations of God’s goodness aren’t meant to be private. I have been having a lot of private revelations. They don’t last as long as the ones that are shared. I forget a lot quicker. And when someone else shares something that they have learned, I’m like “Whaaaaaat? That’s amazing, I’m so glad you shared, now I feel happy all over and earlier today I was angry at the world.” (It’s late, that’s the best I can explain right now…but let’s be real, that is how I would say it in real life).

I want my heart to always sing of God’s goodness to me.

And somehow I am transitioning.

One thought on “Transition

  1. thanks for being honest. i found this encouraging. i was really, really struggling at the polls yesterday. i am glad i am not the only one that is wrestling!

Leave a Reply

