The Truth

Cynicism – An attitude of scornful or jaded negativity, especially a general distrust of the integrity or professed motives of others (from the freedictionary.com)

If you’re ever at a loss for how to craft an opening sentence on your blog, go with the definition of a well-known word. Always a winner.

I have been thinking about how foul I am. (I guess that would have worked for an opening line).

But it’s also been interesting to think back to the days when one could label me a cynic. An attitude of scorn. Negative. Distrustful.

If you like me at all, like, even a little bit, then your eyes have seen the salvation of Jesus.

He still has so much to heal, but here is what I know. His grace is sufficient for me. His power is made perfect in my weakness. And He could have a show in Vegas, because He’s a magician.

Before my very eyes, I have seen him change…

Bitterness to joy

Chaos to peace

Darkness to light

Death to life

Wailing to dancing

Cynicism to… laughter.

Then Jesus told them this parable: “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’

Leave a Reply

