Scumbag Brain

I had a convoluted dream last night.

I dreamed that I woke up at 11:30pm, but thought it was 11:30am, and I was late for work. So I went to work, and realized it was 11:30pm.

Any dream that includes waking up is confusing enough, but when you dream that you woke up confused…that is too far, brain. Too far.

This afternoon at work, I was informed that there was a tornado last night. Or tornado weather. And that sirens were going off in my area from 3-5am.

I did not notice. I didn’t even know it was raining until I stepped outside this morning. I don’t usually pay attention to weather reports because my Mom always calls to ask me if I am alive. Mom??? You dropped the ball.

It is interesting to me that I have no trouble waking up to an alarm each morning. It is never an issue. Sometimes I even dream that my alarm goes off, and I wake up. I have, on occasion, dreamed such a vivid alarm-going-off noise, that I have gotten out of bed and started getting ready for the day, only to realize that it is 4am.

If my mind can recognize that the alarm is an important noise that cannot be ignored, why would it hear tornado sirens and decide, “Meh.”

That’s my brain, y’all.

Leave a Reply

