And Time Goes On

My Grandpa’s introduction to the DVD he made for his 70th wedding anniversary party, 3 years ago:

I am Edwin, and a long time ago, I met a girl by the name of Ruth. She was in our town, and she was visiting her sister. And I was working for her brother-in-law. She was there about two months. I got acquainted with her pretty good, and everything was going fine. And she went home. Then we wrote letters back and forth. She had a brother that was doing the same kind of work that I was doing for her brother-in-law, so I got a job with him. Two weeks later, we got married. On August 24, 1940. We had a wedding in the Calvary Baptist Church on East Main. In attendance was the preacher, and his name was Joe. He was a young guy that went to school with Ruth. And she had asked him to perform the ceremony for us, and he was there. His dad was there; he was also a minister, his mother and two sisters were there. My parents were there, Harvey and Cora. And Ruth’s mother, Maxeline, was there. Now the building that we was in was being renovated. We went in there late Saturday night, no electricity, but we did have two flashlights. The ceremony went on and I was pleased, even though it cost me five dollars. Well, time goes on, and two years later, I joined the Air Force. And the first place they sent me was Lubbock, TX. Well, Ruth follows me out there. She comes out on the train. After she was there, she got herself a job, and a place to stay. I got a 3 day pass to go back to her mother’s house, where she had left our car, to get the car. Then on January 5, 1943, they sent me, and about 40 of us in Lubbock, to a brand new air force base 7 miles west of Bryan, TX. I was there for about 34 months. While we were there, our son Jim was born. The poor little fellar only weighed 3 lbs and 10 oz. But that didn’t stop him any. He came out of it, and by the time he was going to the 1st grade, he was just as big and smart as any of them there. Then about 9 months later, I was shipped out. I took Ruth and Jimmy to my folk’s house, 52 miles north of Tulsa. I was there for about 6 months; the war was over. Then I came home. Then I worked two or three places, and I just wasn’t satisfied. So I came to Tinker Field, on July 10, 1951. We bought this house. And we’ve been in it now 58 years. And then in 1954, David was born. And he was a healthy rascal. Weighed about 8 lbs. And Jimmy was 9 years older than him by now. And Jimmy, he goes to school, gets out of high school, and then he joins the air force. He goes to a year in Alaska, and 2 years in Japan. Then he comes back and goes to college, because he had 4 years of college all paid for. Then, in the meantime, David grows up and goes to school. He gets along just great. He goes to school here, and then Jimmy gets out of college and he goes to Houston. He goes to work for a car company, as a new car sales manager. In the meantime, David gets through high school. He goes to school to be a Pharmacist. When he gets through, he goes to Houston, where Jimmy is. In the meantime, Jimmy meets Beverly. And time goes on, and they have a daughter. And today, the daughter is married, and her husband’s name is Aaron. They have 2 boys. Then, in the meantime, David meets Sharon. They have 4 girls. The 4 girls all go to college, and they all get degrees of some kind. The oldest one, Sarah, is married. And now she has two little girls. Her husband is a youth minister. Well, time goes on again. And on December 12, 2008, Jimmy has a problem. And it is very serious. And he can’t overcome it. So he is not with us anymore. And then, time goes on again. And one day David says, “Dad, Mom, you’re going to be married 70 years pretty soon, and we’re going to throw you a party.” And we don’t object. “Sure, something like that would be fine.” So he and Sharon, they send out invitations, and they make all kinds of preparations and plans and everything. And the day comes, and 41 relatives shows up. And 12 church people. And neighbors. And then we get it going. And our Pastor, boy, he done his self one good one there. He said a prayer, a little long, but he didn’t miss a word. He even named Ruth and I twice in it.

That should be enough useless details for the Data Miners, so they can have the afternoon off. One less family to stalk.

Sometimes it’s hard for me not to tell jokes. With jokes, I feel like they are just hanging around in the air, waiting to be told. I just typed out my Grandpa’s speech with the address of where he got married, and how much his babies weighed, and the name of my cousin’s husband. I had to mention Data Miners. I had to.

When I opened one of the DVD envelopes tonight, I found a note from my Grandpa. Nothing that will make you weep, although I did. Just a little note with instructions for how to make the DVD play. You know, “Push play.”

IMG_5416

If you find yourself coveting my Grandpa, it is a perfectly natural response, albeit a sinful one. But you can’t have him. He was mine.

5 thoughts on “And Time Goes On

Leave a Reply

