It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

This is a post that I look forward to all year. It’s my favorite post, and probably the least interesting for everyone to read.

The list of books I read in 2013.

1. America Again: Rebecoming the Greatness We Never Weren’t by Stephen Colbert
2. Jesus: A Theography by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola
3. The Myth of a Christian Nation by Gregory Boyd
4. The Shack by William P. Young
5. I Am A Follower by Leonard Sweet
6. The Politics of Jesus by John Howard Yoder
7. Lord of the Flies by William Golding
8. A Church Building Every 1/2 Mile by Jon Zens
9. Revolutionary Christianity by John Howard Yoder
10. Out of the Question, Into the Mystery by Leonard Sweet
11. The Community Life of God by Milt Rodriguez
12. The Normal Christian Life by Watchman Nee
13. Body Politics by John Howard Yoder
14. The Reformers and Their Stepchildren by Leonard Verduin
15. Reclaiming Christianity by A. W. Tozer
16. The Stewardship of the Mystery by T. Austin-Sparks
17. The Pastor Has No Clothes by Jon Zens
18. Is God to Blame? by Gregory Boyd
19. Benefit of the Doubt by Gregory Boyd

This is very interesting data.

19 books by 13 authors
3,963 pages

I usually have more variety than that. Most of those books were on the same topic (Jeeeesus!), and I read 2 or 3 books by some of the same people.

There is actually a handful of books that I read on the subject of marriage, but they shall not be named. They are the worst books I have ever read. I had to do it as part of the research for my book. They confirmed that someone needs to write something sensible on the subject. I pick me.

My favorite book and least favorite book of the year were written by the same person: Gregory Boyd.

One of my pastors used to say that the only person you should agree with 100% is Jesus. I’m not right about everything, so it’s not difficult for me see that the same holds true for authors. It’s possible to respect a brother in Christ, appreciate what he has to say, and not agree with all of it.

Is God to Blame? was unhelpful, for me. The problem of suffering is a difficult subject to tackle. His explanation would leave me feeling very hopeless, if I agreed with it.

However

The Myth of a Christian Nation is, quite possibly, one of the best books I have ever read. Phrases from that book have continued to roll around inside of me since I read it. Phrases like, “affirm the unsurpassable worth” of all the people around you. Or, “allow yourself to be crushed” alongside the people that the world or other Christians are crushing. These phrases and thoughts are echoes of Calvary. I highly recommend it. Read my initial response to the book here.

Maybe in 2014 I will read less books, and write one.

“It is the power of the cross, not the power of the sword, that holds the hope of the world, for the power of the cross is also the power of the resurrection.”

Leave a Reply

