Brother From Another Mother

Bonhoeffer. I haven’t even read any of his actual works yet, and I think he’s basically the male version of me. I think the only difference between us is that he probably giggled a lot less than I do.

His brother-in-law actually taught at Oxford while C.S. Lewis was there.

I feel pretty sure that I should have been born in Europe around 1910 or so. I could have gallavanted around with these guys in the prime of my life. Nashville is great, sure. But what about Europe in the 40’s with Bonhoeffer and C.S. Lewis? Without the Germany/War portion of things.

He actually did have a twin sister. We could have been triplets!

I digress.

Quotes. From my brain or his??

(His. They are his quotes.)

It is remarkable how I am never quite clear about the motives for any of my decisions. Is that a sign of confusion, of inner dishonesty, or is it a sign that we are guided without our knowing, or is it both? Today the reading speaks dreadfully harshly of God’s incorruptible judgment. He certainly sees how much personal feeling, how much anxiety there is in today’s decision, however brave it may seem. The reasons one gives for an action to others and to one’s self are certainly inadequate. One can give a reason for everything. In the last resort one acts from a level which remains hidden from us…At the end of the day I can only ask God to give a merciful judgment on today and all its decisions. It is now in his hand.”

Bonhoeffer never arrived at decisions easily, but once he saw things clearly, he moved forward.”

Leave a Reply

